UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss 1st Tiled Floor in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

P

puntoadzs

Hi all,

Currently upgrading my Kitchen one thing i want to do prior to installing the new units is tile the floor.

There is currently Vinyl tiles down approx 15 years old. I was thinking ripping these up, self leveling (concrete floor beneath) and then tiling is this the correct? I was wondering if i needed to self level but i imagine the old vinyl tiles will leave alot of old glue on the floor beneath when i take them up

Cheers

Adam

Last edited by a moderator:
M

Mike Mike

I do this for a living. This is what I would do with your floor, and this would be the fastest, least expensive, least messy, most efficient approach. Depending on your access to some of the equipment and materials, you can either follow all these steps, or substitute a step here or there for something manual as required.

(Before I start, you can tile onto vinyl tiles if they are well adhered and you use a suitable adhesive, but let's assume you've set your heart on pulling them up).

1. Remove vinyl tiles (you can rent a machine which will do 15m2 in approx half an hour).
2. Sand the floor with a rotary floor machine (you can rent these) to remove / flatten the glue residue. 15m2 floor will take you 15 minutes.
3. Clear away all the tiles and vacuum the floor. 30 minutes.
4. Prime the floor with suitable acrylic primer. Drying time 30 - 60 minutes.
5. Trowel over a thin coat of SMOOTHING COMPOUND (not self leveling compound). 15m2 floor will take approx 10 minutes. Walkable in 30 minutes, can be sanded in 60 minutes, and tiling commence after 2 hours.