UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss A little help on tile trims in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

stevienet

Hi
I'm a complete beginner when it comes to tiling, so please forgive me if I'm not coming across clear!, but I'm gonna have a go at tiling my kitchen. I've chosen the tiles I want, they will be glazed on the front only, all the sides are unfinished. I've worked out the setting out (i'm tiling above my worktop 7 tiles high, the tile dimensions are 150mm wide and 75mm high) and am concerned at the way it will look at the very top of the tiles due to them being unfinished and around the corners around by the windows and window sill.

I've seen you can get tile trims which will cover up the edges but the diagrams I've seen seem to show they will not fit flush vertically against a wall. Can anyone shed a bit of light on whether this is the case?

Also, when fitting them around corners (around a window, one will be horizontal and another at 90 degrees vertically) there will be a gap between the 2 tile trims where the round beads will meet. How would I fill this gap?

Sorry if thats a bit confusing but thanks for taking the time out to read!

Steve

T

timb138

Hi Steve,
As Andy said, the best way to do around a window is to mitre the tiles so you don't use trims at all but it is definitely not easy to get right for a novice especially in the 3 way corners where the cill meets the vertical edges of the window and the main wall.