Discuss Ableskills! in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

T

The D

How about a little advice then deanotile! its clear your not a fan of the course so what would you suggest? Ive been doing tiling for a while now and love the job. Im just keen to learn. Its clear your a very good tiler as ive watched you youtube videos. Any poiters would be great.
Cheers
Ok you say you are working as a trainee tiler and in my humble opinion that is the best way to learn. so go to a college and do the NVQ. If you are working in the trade why on earth would you do a 6 week tiling course ?? if it is to get the qualification quickly then you may be disappointed with what you get IMO. But it is up to you have a good look in to what these courses have to offer and get some independent advice from people in the industry but do not be fooled by word play.

D

DHTiling

I have been looking at something like this as well. Have about a years experience of tiling which I have self taught myself but really want to get some solid knowledge and a certificate so i can know Im doing things right and also get a red cscs card and earn real money :yikes:

Then you will be highly dissapointed to learn the mickey mouse certificate will not get you a cscs card for tiling. :).. NVQ2 is required.

Last edited by a moderator:
T

The D

If you have been working in the industry as a tiler for 3 or more years you can optane an NVQ 2 by way of on site assessment, exsperanced worker practical assessment route or you can attend an acredited college/centre and provide them with your evidence. All evidence must be site based not simulation! Even if the centre clames to have the closest thing to reality you can get in a centre it is still simulated and will not cout towards you NVQ.

T

The D

The NVQ is there to give people that do a job for a living a qualification hens the Vocation part.

the CSCS cards are there to ensure only qualified professionals make it on to site.