Discuss Adcive for laying slate floor tiles in the Best Floor Tiles area at TilersForums.com.

B

bcurtis

Hello,

Iive bought slate floor tiles and was just wondering how easy they are to lay??

When i was in topps tiles buying grout for my wall tiles i was quizzing the bloke about laying slate tiles. He was telling me not to bother as they are a nightmare to cut, my toilet and sink won't sit level and you've to treat them before you lay them, then after i've layed them then i have to seal them.

Can anybody tell me if what i've been told is right and since i'm a novice whether i'd be better laying normal tiles or even vinyl???

Cheers

D

dingo

It's going down onto my old tile floor which is so stuck down i can't remove it!! I don't know the grade, but they weren't expenisve so probably not the best quality, but they are all labelled between 10-12mm thick.

If slate is such a pain to cut and lay i'd prob be better off laying normal tiles or even good vinyl.
as others have said, there are some great slate effect ceramics out there, slate is best left to a pro unless your a very confident amature:thumbsup::thumbsup:

O

oldgit

i have black brazillian slate throughout the whole down stairs of my house and they look great,they need a top up of impregnator or sealer as they are looking a little flat.
they are good for thickness and size and dont flake at all.
most of the stuff ive seen in topps is crappy chinese slate.
having said all that and price is not a massive issue then forget ceramics COLORKER do some amazing porcelain slate effect stuff the best ive ever seen,if it had been out when i bought my slate i would without doubt gone for the COLORKER slate effect,the repeater is around 15mts i believe.
ive not laid them but there stuff is normally top quality for size and bowing,some of these tiles are are about 900mm x 450mm.

R

rhyd4