Discuss Advice Needed On Laying Tiles Outdoors in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

U

UKDAVE

Hi all
I am just starting out a tiler and am looking for advice on laying 15m2 of 40x40 porcelain tiles. The customer has already bought the adhesive and grout but I am just wondering what is the best way to prepare the substrate that is existing tiles and also concrete. Please see attached pics, any help out there guys???
Cheers

Attachments

• image.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 73

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK
Hi Dave.

Have you had any training or just winging it a bit?! Worries me that you say you're starting out as a tiler and then don't know how to prep. That said see my comment at the bottom of this post.

I'm all for guys getting into the trade, and even doing short courses (which can be controversial sometimes but hey ho we all start somewhere). But to take on a job and not know how to prep is a bit overconfident maybe?

As for the question; I'd rip those tiles up. They do appear to be stuck well, as in there doesn't appear to be any repair jobs. Although the tiling its self is pretty shocking and lippy and whatnot. But that's probably a DIY job. Meaning you'll never know what they were stuck with or how long it's going to last. I'd assume under that is more concrete, so then you're preparing the whole thing for tiling.

It needs cleaning, and I'd consider screeding the lot to get it flat and one surface type.

I've tiled for a few years, about 7 or 8 years ago, and even I wouldn't feel comfortable tiling that I don't think.

And lads responding, let's give him the benefit of the doubt don't jump on the band wagon here and change the thread tone based on my response please.

U

UKDAVE

Hi Dan
Thanks for your response, basically I have done a very short course and am now working towards an Nvq. I have just started doing my own jobs but they have all been indoors on plaster/ plasterboard, hardiebacker etc.