UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Am i doing the right thing here? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

skeg

Hi there,

I'm not a tiler by trade really but have had some good tiling courses under my belt from a year or so ago. These were done as my current employment has had an uncertain future for a while and tiling was something i felt i could do if my job was ever to fall through at some point. As a result of this i have only done a few jobs when they present themselves to me and when each job arises i find myself having to refresh and research on the correct things to do so i know i'm doing the correct things.

The job i'm looking at at the moment is an en suite bathroom and 2nd family bathroom. Both are going to have showers whilst one has the bath as well.

These are my thoughts/questions:-

Floors are chipboard but solid so am going to overlay in brickbond pattern with Hardibacker board 6mm screwed and stuck down with a slow set (i'm a slow worker :smilewinkgrin:)flexi bagged adhesive with 3mm or so gaps and tape covering all joins. Tiles to be used are 300x300 matt finished ceramic fixed down with the same flexi adhesive with 5mm gaps for grout.

The shower cubicles are still in construction, plastered with skim finish on one side and back wall with just the timber frame in place for the other side wall. This timber frame is going to be plasterboarded and skimmed, however i've read on here that it may be better to tile onto the board once it's tanked and to not skim plaster it. Is this right?

The wall tiles are i think 300x6/7/800 i can't remember but basically rectangular.

Should the already skimmed plaster on the other walls of the shower definitely be tanked?