Discuss bathroom nightmare. in the Bathroom Tiling Advice area at TilersForums.com.

J

jackson

Hi

This is my first post. So bear with me if it's a bit long winded. I am not a pro tiler just a diyer. I live in a small flat so only one bathroom. The bathroom is already tiled with 5" * 5" ceramic tiles which are solid to the wall (I put them up 10 years ago) A couple of years ago I painted them with tile paint(Big mistake!) because I thought they would be a problem to get off. So now I want to put 10" * 14" inch tiles up but the tiles are welded to the wall and when I tried to remove them I nearly ended up in my neighbours bedroom as most of the plasterboard came away with the one tile I managed to remove!:grin: The last two hours I have spent trying to remove the tile paint but going nowhere fast. Removing the tiles is not an option as it would take too long to put the room back together(its my only bathroom). Is there an easy way of removing tile paint and what do I use to score the shiny tiles underneath to give me a key for my adhesive?

Thanks in advance

Jackson

G

grumpygrouter

You may be quicker tearing down the plasterboard, complete with tiles and re-boarding. Doesn't take as long as you think. At least if you have fresh board up, it (the bathroom) will be useable to a certain extent. You will then have an excellent surface to retile on to. Mind you, looking at the size of tiles are they ceramic or porcelain or stone? Don't want to overload the plasterboard!

Grumpy

PS welcome to the forums.:thumbsup:

J

jackson

Hi

Thanks for all the quick replies. Sounds a little scary for a newbie:eek6:.How do I take the wall down without ending up in the neighbours? Do I just attack the wall with a hammer? How much noise does it make ? Do i need to replace it with special plasterboard? Sorry for all the questions. It sounds like good advice but do I need special tools to accomplish it? How long would/should it take me?

Cheers

Jackson.

D

DHTiling

Hi