Discuss Bathroom in the Bathroom Tiling Advice area at TilersForums.com.

R

ROSSP

I am a novice renewing a bathroom. I am researching to get the best tiling advice before starting.

FLOOR – This is a concrete base. Intend to use 300x300x9mm Beige Glazed Ceramic tiles with UFH. UFH to warm the tiles rather than main source of heating as there is a radiator in the room. I want to raise floor level as little as possible so intend to use ‘Thermacoat’ instead of insulation boards. Can thermacoat be used as the floor primer or is another primer required?
I assume self levelling compound is required?
I assume that rapid setting flexible tile adhesive is required?
Do I need an expansion joint around the perimeter (floor is 2.8m x 2.4m)?
Do I need ‘superflex’ grout?
What is the optimum grout width?
If I use ivory grout will this show up the dirt?

WALL - Using 360x275x9mm glazed ceramic tiles. The walls are now down to the plaster. We are installing a 900 Quadrant shower. The intention is to use WBP ply on one wall of shower to cover over pipework. The other wall will be tiled directly onto plaster. What is the best type of primer to use – preferably the same for ply and plaster?
What is best tile adhesive to use?
What is optimum grout width for walls?

Do I need to use same make of tile adhesive and grout?
Are the trade products any good or is it best to stick to well know brands like BAL or Mapei?

Any other advice welcomed.

S

Scott