Discuss Career change!?! in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

C

Carl Whorton

Hi guys,

another newbie here looking for help and advice

I've worked in the City for almost 20 years, in IT, and now looking for a new career before I get too old. Office life is not what it was, the IT work is dying on its butt as all work gets sent off shore. Me and the good lady are therefore selling up in London and heading down to sunny Cornwall

Primarily we are looking to buy a few do-em up properties and/or buy-to lets. But I want to get a trade behind me too so I can do some of the work myself. As most properties will need a new bathroom and kitchen, and tiling will always be required, I figured learning to tile wouldn't be a bad move.

Anyway, before we head down there I was wondering if anyone had some good advice on how to get some experience? I can do one of those courses advertised (and I probably will at some stage) but I was wondering if a tiler would be willing to show me some of the basics on a real job? I'd be no threat to your business in London (actually North Kent/SE London) as I'm moving away.

I'd happily labour for free to learn something valuable

If anyone knows of a tiler in the SE London area who might want a helper for a few days and wouldn't mind me asking a few questions then please do let me know.

Thanks in advance. Carl

D

Deleted member 9966

Hi Carl

:welcome: to TilersForums

The tiling trade isn't as easy as it looks and takes a long time to build up a good skill, good reputation and a good level of business. I'll let the other tilers on here explain that in more detail. But I can understand your disillusion with London and IT, as my bro in law left a well paid IT job in central London a few years back and re-trained as a teacher!