UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Complete Newbie!!! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

B

BAD-DIY'ER No1

Hi All, New to the forums and hoping you guys can help me through what will be a good number of small tiling jobs over the next few weeks. Absalutely NO experience of tiling before, read a few articles, and watched some youtube stuff but was hoping you guys could give me much more specific advice?

Job 1, only comprises of abou 16-20 tiles in total but still daunting. It's splashback for a corner sink in a small cloakroom.

Take a look! :smilewinkgrin:

photo (1) - Copy - Copy.jpg

So here's where I could REALLY do with some advice, suggestions etc.

The sink measures 42.5cm. Tiles I have are 10x10 and made from Stone (I think), I also have a 'mosiac sheet' which I have cut to use as a decorative trim type thing. Want to use 1 Stone tile then a row of the mosaic tiles then another stone tile...

photo.jpg

Using 4 full tiles and allowing for the spacers I have I come up at 40.5cm which doesnt look right, going a full 5 tiles makes it too much of an over hang, and again doesnt look right! ON top of that the mosaic tiles are glass, and I dont think I can cut them meaning I need to use full lenths of them giving me 44.5cm, a 2cm overhang which looks the best option? This means I need to cut quite a slim slice of the stone tiles to line it up!!!:mad2:

I'm not sure on most of it, so any advice massively welcome? Should I put the cut tiles in the corner or ont he edge? Do I need anything special to cut these type of tiles? How much of a gap should I leave between the top of the sink and the first tile, do I grout that gap afterwards or use a silicon sealer, same in the corner?

Thanks for anything you can offer,

A nervous newbie!!!

Attachments

• photo (1).jpg