UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Complete novice considering travertine wall tiles in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

subehai71

Love the look of travertine wall tiles 10x10cm but so much negative feedback from people I have spoken to. Had a quick look through the stone tiling forum but a lot is for flooring and larger tiles. We have a few sockets on the wall, what would the best way to cut them. Tried an angle grinder with a diamond blade-cut fine but tile split. HELP! Any threads I should be reading to aid in our decision to choose these tiles? Or does anyone know of a ceramic tile which has a similar travertine effect as the ones i have come across don't match up to the real thing. We're looking at unfilled ones. Thanks

B

bugs183

Hiya!
Some manufacturers sell tiles similar to un filled travertine, but only travertine really looks like travertine!
Go on Tradetiler.com and buy a 'squadro' wheel for your angle grinder, this wheel will easily do all the cuts you need.
Be sure to seal these tiles properly, it is at this stage where you get the problems.
Go on the net and buy 'Fila Filafob', and 'Fila satin effect wax'. Fix the tiles on the wall. Allow to dry, wash and clean all the tiling work,removing all residual adhesive, now apply filafob in 2-3 coats. Grout up, allow to dry apply one more coat of filafob, allow to dry and apply 2-3 coats of satin wax.

T

Topshop

Use a wet saw to cut the travertine and you have a better chance of not cracking it. Do NOT use wax on any natural stone - natural stones need to breathe. Use a penetrating sealer before grouting to make the grout clean-up easier. Then seal the grout after it has had time to cure properly and allow any moisture to escape.