Discuss Concentrating On Tiling in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

P

philrab66

Hi all
I have been a self employed handyman for around 4 years and tackled loads of different sort of jobs. I always feel I have to rush because I always under price the job. I have been thinking recently that I would like to stick to doing 1 thing. I have a lot of carpentry/ joinery experience but only at handyman level I guess. I can do most things to a decent standard if I could not I would not take the job on. Anyway I have been thinking should I get into tiling at least I could set myself a £per (m) . This is one reason I want to move onto something else, my challenge is not doing the work but pricing the job . I have tiled a few bathrooms and kitchen floors and they are acceptable but not to a professional standard. I understand that it is not an easy jump I would have so much to learn. Has anybody else made a move like this?
Thanks Phil.

P

philrab66

I suppose I really want to get away from the small jobs. I have been working for a landlord for the last few months doing 3 total refurbs and it is much better to have a decent bit of cash at the end of the week instead of little bits here and there . I am charging him a hourly rate have got around 4-6 weeks left with him.So I have been pondering the best way forward, well looking at options I guess. My main problem is I will go to look at a job and think it will take me this long to do, charge them so much per hour, But if it is only a couple of hours by the time I go and quote then I normally go over job mentally to make sure I have everything so not making extra trips, go and do it, you think to yourself is it worth it. I know people will say charge a minimum but people wont pay say £75 to put up a curtain pole for instance. Anyway rant over . The joys of self employment.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK