Guest viewing is limited

Discuss Cracking Tiles Mystery in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Y

Your opinion

My bathroom tiles, fitted by a contractor, are crackingexactly along the joins in the plywood boarding underneath.

The ceramic tiles were laid on 6mm ply on top of tongue and groove floorboards using (I'm told) flexible adhesive. The ply was laid with the long side running front to back in line with the boards underneath (not 90 degrees)

The contractor is trying to tell me that the reasons for the cracks is because there's movement in the joists. The joists have been laid for 70 years, a surveyor has looked and sees no sign of movement or rotting and so I could do with some advice on what could be the cause of the cracks.

In my mind, they should have used minimum 12mm of ply and laid it at 90 degrees to minimise the natural flex in the floor.

Does anyone else have experience of this?

T

Time's Ran Out

:welcome:

Sorry I've got no experience of tiles cracking but your situation is the result of inadequate floor preparation!
British Standard guidelines are a minimum overlay for plywood is 15mm for ceramic tiles to be fixed!
Even if there is movement in the joists it is the contractors liability to make sure the floor is deflection free prior to receiving a tiled floor covering.
No doubt the start of a dispute!

B

Bolter

:welcome:

Sorry I've got no experience of tiles cracking but your situation is the result of inadequate floor preparation!
British Standard guidelines are a minimum overlay for plywood is 15mm for ceramic tiles to be fixed!
Even if there is movement in the joists it is the contractors liability to make sure the floor is deflection free prior to receiving a tiled floor covering.
No doubt the start of a dispute!

You will need no other answer other than this one!

M

mikethetile

as tj has so rightly said