UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss CSCS....Q&A for builders/tilers.. etc......... in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

DHTiling

CSCS cards: a Q&A for builders..etc..

The Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS) is a way of proving that everyone on a building site is qualified to do the job.
Tradesmen and women have to be formally qualified to receive a CSCS card and more than one million people have signed-up with the scheme since it started in 1995. Our quick guide explains the benefits of having a CSCS card – and how to get one.

I’m only a small builder – how does this affect me?
Homeowners won’t ask to see proof of your qualifications via a CSCS card for small domestic jobs. But if you win a subcontract package on a sizeable construction site, the main contractor will often insist you have a fully-carded workforce. Any job run by the 14 members of the Major Contractors Group will demand 100% membership of CSCS. Employing people who are qualified under the scheme also offers you a guarantee of their skills.
Sounds like a good thing to have. How do I get one?
You can apply by [DLMURL="http://www.cscs.uk.com/RunScript.asp?page=80&p=ASP\Pg80.asp"]downloading a form directly from the CSCS website[/DLMURL].
What happens then?
The first stage of the process is to pass a basic health and safety test at one of a network of online test centres. Tests can be booked directly.
Ok I’ve passed that, what’s the next stage?
You now have to show proof of being qualified in your chosen trade to NVQ standard. You may have to sit new exams or be tested at work if you are an experienced worker.
So if I’ve been doing the job a long time - I don't have to take more exams?