Discuss Finished bathroom in the Bathroom Tiling Advice area at TilersForums.com.

C

Cabnero

Hi everyone. I've posted threads previously asking for advice on doing my mum's bathroom and had loads of replies all with useful helpful advice. I'm no prone tiler. Just did some courses and enjoy tiling. This bathroom was the first thing ive tiled for about 18 months. Some pictures below for you to look at. I know there are loads of mistakes in this but any advice/ criticism would be welcome. Not least the setting out on the inside of the window! However there are a couple of things particularly that I would appreciate your advice on. The walls were plasterboard education (dot and dabbed) so nice and flats yet I still had lippage issues which drove me nuts. I used a 12mm square notch trowel back buttered the tiles which were 600 x 300 porcelain. I still had small lips on some tiles. How do you guys get around this. Also I'm guessing flat is more the norm than perfectly plumb so you would follow the wall right?? You would just ensure the tiles are all touching a straight edge if that makes sense. Also the guy who fitted the shower plasterboarded the walls. I had murders with him because according to him "people don't pay for all this"he would have just bonded the old walls. I said you were not meant to do this. His reply was "tiles ain't fallen off yet and I've done it". His face when I asked him to nog out the floor was unreal. To top it off he questioned me using a tanking kit when he always used pva. Again his tiles are still up. Is this attitude the norm out there?? Anyway any comments advice would be appreciated. Thanks

IMG_7305.PNG
20161010_143932.jpg 20161010_143936.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
C

Cabnero