Discuss First Post please be gentle!! Lots of help needed in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

O

Ossie

Hi everyone,

I would like to tile the interior of a chimney breast uing metro ceramic bevelled edge tiles 200mm x 100mm. I am a complete novice never before have I attempted any kind of tiling.

Please can anyone give me some advice? with regards to the following questions I have.

1. The surface I am will be tiling to is a plastered surface, in my opinion it is a sound surface it was plastered approx six years ago, it was painted with Dulux endurance paint but now this has been completely removed. Is there anything I need to do to prepare the plaster before I start applying the tile adhesive?

2. With regards to the tiles (Ceramic Metro bevelled edge 200mm x 100mm what size spacers should I use?

3. I would like to attempt the brick bond design layout, how would I start this project? I intend to tile above a wooden skirting board and would like any views on how best to tackle this?

Thanks in advance everyone.

AliGage

TF
Arms
Subscribed
So sorry, I have just noticed your post, thank you so very much what is SBR primer and can you recommend a particular one or does it nor really matter?

Lol. No worries. If you have a topps tiles near you pop in there and get a small 1 litre bottle of BALs primer. Unless you have any other tile shops near you. But you can't go wrong with BAL Lino my opinion.

O

Ossie

Anytime. Good luck.

Once done come back and show us a picture or two of what you've done.
Been meaning to do something with our fireplace in our house. Never get time to do work at home though. My other half is pressing me though. Just done a job for a friend of hers. Now she wants it doing even more urgently. Figures!