UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss First private Job in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

H

henrywillicombe

Hello everyone. This forum has been really educational and id like to thank everyone that shares their knowledge on this forum. I have been tiling for two years for someone else and have my first solo job coming up. I want this job to be of the highest standard, run as smoothly as possible and earn some good money from it. My priorities are in that order.
The job is 28 sq metres of marble floor. 600 x 400 tiles in brick bond. the substrate is floor boards that have been fixed down and supported and i couldnt see any signs of deflection, and in the the next room is old concrete screed. The builders are going to sbr the floor and then latex it. I am putting ditra down with Bal rapid set. I have a few question and would be grateful for answers. at work i have always been told to mix two adhesive together. for example i know u need a rapid set adhesive for stone but to aid laying we would mix a bag of each together, i.e dunlop normal setting and fast setting. and the ratio would vary on how weather, how much is needed, etc. usually 1:1 or 2:1. I have since read on here that this is bad practise, so i would like to know of an adhesive that is rapid setting but is nice to work with. i get discount in tile flair and mandarin so would have to be from these stores.
i am going to order the stone and will be ordering 31 sq metres is this enough. and finally i am going to seal the tiles with MP90, would u wax the tiles afterwards as is the norm with stone, as i have read conflicting reports. I am experianced with stone as that is the bulk of the work we do but havent worked with marble before. Any help would be brilliant.