UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss First Tiling Job Completed in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

armyash

Ok I completed the 5 day tiling course at Able Skills a week ago and as I'm on leave for 2 weeks I decided to re tile the bathroom while things were still fresh in my head. It's not perfect but I'm pleased with it as my first task. I don't plan on taking up tiling as a career (wise choice I'm sure you'll all tell me lol). I'm a qualified plumber (through the army) and thought it would be a good idea to get an insight in to tiling so that I can lend a hand when needed on any tiling work in the future rather than being a dogs body.

There's a couple of tiles that haven't been cut as accurately as I'd like so will need replacing, the grouting could do with tidying up along the top because of the paint and I need to silicone the basin and the bath trim. An hours work at most but working tomorrow so it can wait for another day.

bathroom 1.jpg bathroom 2.jpg bathroom3.jpg bathroom4.jpg

T

Time's Ran Out

Ash - as you are in the army I'am sure you are man enough to take a bit of advice - but after 5 days on a tiling course I'd ask for my money back!
What they obviously didn't include in the 5 days was how to set out the tiles to allow the pattern to flow around the corners and why you have a gap between the basin and bath tiling only you can explain.
If you are intending to do more tiling to go with your plumbing then you need to spend more time on this forum and ask for help rather than to go rushing into a project and making basic mistakes which will overshadow any quality that may be in the actual tile fixing.
I hope to read more questions in the future and will attempt to answer in the positive.

A

armyash