Discuss Flat not always possible? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

C

cornish_crofter

Talking to a friend the other day who is a plasterer by trade. His girlfriend's mother has had her kitchen floor tiled by someone she knows.

The floor started out level at the threashold and level in one or two other areas, namely where her Aga sits. The person doing the tiling in his haste to get it all level managed to create a step at the kitchen door to get the floor level, and create a problem elsewhere in the process.

This is in a period property. My area is teaming with them.

About 18 months ago I was on a job at another 19th century property where the customer wanted her bathroom fitted and tiled. The back wall was out of level and also in quite a bad state. I actually hacked off the area to be tiled and re rendered it. I managed to get it pretty level but the one problem I had was the bathroom window. If I had rendered the wall dead flat the mortar would have come across the window glass by about half an inch. The inside of the frame was actually flush with the wall. There was a gentle curve in the wall that just couldn't be taken out without interfering with an airing cupuard door at the other end or hacking off actual stonework or indeed interfering with other important features.

I am finding a number of examples in older properties where it's just not achievable to make sure walls are dead straight before tiling without completely messing up the geometary of the room (for example a right angle for the bath to sit up against).

I find myself thinking that maybe such walls are not good for tiling the whole length, or that other solutions could exist. For example, one customer opted for T and G panelling, which actually looked very good.

Otherwise all I can do is get the best straight line for the area to be tiled, and use small tiles to keep lippage to a minimum.