Discuss Going it alone!? in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

D

DGJ

I'm looking for some advice, I've always wanted to start up on my own one day and I've decided that hopefully within the next year - 18 months I'm going to take the jump and go for it. BUT I'm looking for some advice on where to start it all???

I've been working for my uncles company since leaving school 12 years ago, firstly at the bottom as a gofer up to where I am now one of the more 'senior' ( through experience ) fitters there, we fit mostly wet rooms but i have over the years fitted numerous bathrooms ect.

I have thought about asking the uncle if I could have the addresses of certain people I've done work for over the years ( and have had letters ect from ) from the work database and sending some sort of letter, saying 'I was the fitter who completed the work I'm starting up on my own here is my number so if your or friends family want any pluming, tiling ect work done then please keep me in mind' obviously better worded and more professional than that, just to TRY and start a small customer base up????

I'm under illusion that I'd be a millionaire and understand times would be very hard for a long time, but I'm thinking soon rather than later would be best, before kids come along??

Van and tools would be no problem so would save on paying out for those

Any advice ( good or bad :) ) would be very helpful and please done hold back ;)

P.S although I've done a few jobs for family and friends over the years because I've been lucky to have work with my uncles company and he has been busy for the years I've been there I haven't really got much experience of pricing work ect and wouldn't know where to start on that? And wouldn't really want to ask the uncle as most of not all of our work is through grants and councils?

Like I say any advice would be great, and sorry for such a long post and hopefully I've started this thread in the correct section

Thanks, Dai

D

DGJ