UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss good practice for a shower cubicle install in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

B

buttons129

I have read many posts here and found the forum to be invaluable for an avid DIYer like myself who is an engineer by trade and looking for a professional opinion to see if I am taking the right options.

We moved into a brand new house 8 years ago but have recently found damp skirting boards in a bedroom on the other side of the shower wall. It seems that over time the flexing of the wallboards had loosened the grout etc. and… hey presto, a leaky shower (see photo). We decided to rip the lot out and replace the shower and floor tiles.

Anyway, here’s my method that I need advice on… im sure the pros will say it’s a bit overboard but where I lack in experience and water is concerned I would rather be safe than sorry. (I don’t have the pressure that a tradesman has, earning a crust from his materials and labour)

After the studwork was allowed to dry out…

Floor
1. 6mm Hardibacker secured to the existing 22mm floor grade chipboard with BAL Supercover Rapid flex (screwed down. 5mm staggered board joints)
2. Board joints taped and covered with BAL Supercover Rapid flex.
3. Fit tiles using BAL Supercover Rapid flex.

Shower area
1. Plastic membrane stapled to existing studwork
2. hardibacker500 screwed to studwork (5mm gaps between staggered board joints)
3. Board joints taped and covered with BAL Supercover Rapid flex.
4. Silicone seal wall, floor and ceiling joints before applying BAL WP1 tape.
5. Prime Hardibacker with BAL APD and apply BAL WP1 tanking coating.
7. install and seal shower tray
6. Fit tiles using BAL Supercover Rapid flex.

any help would be appreciated. a few posts say only tank if using plasterboard

thanks

Attachments