Discuss Hardie Backer - fixing and cutting in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

Sean Kelly

TF
Arms
Ruislip
That makes holes tricky. I have to cut to fit a Geberit Wall Frame so I guess a will have to just cut a V shape around them? I have now cut out the plaster board on this as there was a very slight movement around the holes where there is no fixing to the frame.

Attachments

• 20131118_150303_resized copy.jpg
    115.5 KB · Views: 113
If that's the only place there's movement, I'd leave it. Once you bolt the pan on, there will be no movement there mate. ;)

I thought as there was some movement, when the pan is tightened the plaster board may have moved a touch and cracked the tiles. Plus my plumber said he had never seen one before that wasnt done with a layer of ply. As I have never done one before I thought I had better do a belt and braces. Would have been very disappointing to crack the tiles!

beanz

TF
Berkshire
I thought as there was some movement, when the pan is tightened the plaster board may have moved a touch and cracked the tiles. Plus my plumber said he had never seen one before that wasnt done with a layer of ply. As I have never done one before I thought I had better do a belt and braces. Would have been very disappointing to crack the tiles!

I guess that depends on your definition of a very small amount of movement... Once you've added the adhesive and tile, there will probably be no movement, but only you can really make that call, as only you now how much movement there is.
What tiles are you fitting?

M

Mr Tiler

That makes holes tricky. I have to cut to fit a Geberit Wall Frame so I guess a will have to just cut a V shape around them? I have now cut out the plaster board on this as there was a very slight movement around the holes where there is no fixing to the frame.