UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Hello and help!! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

K

KC72

Hello TF!

I am a newbie here, but am hoping that with all the expertise on here, someone may be able to help me out/advise me of the best course of action.
Basically, we have had a total disaster of an UFH installation!
We eventually got round to getting our newly formed kitchen/dining area tiled and UFH installed, and after waiting the appropriate length of time before switching it on, we were disappointed to find that it didn't work. Didn't panic though.....had a look through the various posts on TF and thought it must be a simple electrical problem. Got the electrician back but he was confident that his bit was ok and concluded that there must be a break somewhere under the tiles. Got in contact with the tiler who gave us the number of the Warmup tech guys who operate in our area so they could come out and identify the fault and fix it. At this stage the tiler indicated that he would be responsible for the cost of this, so all good so far.

However.....had the warmup engineers out at the end of the week, and the UFH is unrepairable due to the number of breaks in the cabling! They had to stop after finding at least 8 breaks and lifting 8 60x30 tiles....which isn't a great look on our kitchen floor! All the breaks are in the grout lines, and the engineers reckon this can only have happened when the tiler has been clearing out the joint lines prior to grouting.