UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Hello everyone in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

R

RayJay

Hello my name is Ray
I am a Building Surveyor by profession and also a keen DIY er.
I have recently completed an extension on my house an I am at the floor tiling stage. I have tiled floors previously but not of this size and not with wet underfloor heating.
I have been doing some research on the web including this brillant forum but I am still unclear on some issues and would like some advice.
The floor is concrete screed laid May 2011 by a floorscreed firm including reinforcing fibres ,D49 mesh at stress points (corners etc) .The UFH has been in use since November.
The screed does have a couple of hairline cracks. Part of the floor will exposed to sunshine due to 3 velux windows.
The tiles are 600mm x600mm rectified porcilean.
The floor is L shape, 42m2 with a maximum length of 7.4m.
I intend to leave a 10mm gap around the entire perimmeter.

My questions are:
1.Should I use an isolating membrane over the whole floor or just over the cracked areas ?
2.Should I use 2mm or 3mm spacers?
3.If I need an isolating membrane, I will need a thin one such as PCI pecilastic. I can only find 1 online stockist. None of the local merchants seem to stock it.
Does anyone know of any stockist near Croydon?

I would be grateful for any advice. Thanks.

Attachments

• P1000186.jpg
    189.8 KB · Views: 43
R

RayJay

Thanks for the reply. It looks like a membrane and 3mm joints is the answer.

I do have another question though. I have checked the screed with a rotating laser level and it appears to be pretty level (within 3mm), will a 10mm bed be sufficent for the tiles? Also what is the differerence uses/ preferences betweem square notched and U notched trowels?