UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Hello in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

P

paulsurrey

Hi All

I'm a keen DIYer and I am a Mechanical Engineer by trade so I hopefully won't ask too many dumb questions. I am joining the forum because I am either going to finish the rest of my bathroom myself or maybe find someone on this site who could do the work for me.

The main reason for joining is because I have just had a bad experience with a bathroom fitter who has walked out on the job and left me with a mess and a massive dent in my bank balance. I am going to be looking for advice so I can work out what work needs doing again and so that the job can get finished off properly. I have to do this all very quickly because my family are currently living in temporary accommodation and my wife is most insistent on having a flushing toilet before we move in, can't think why :)

Paul

P

paulsurrey

Thanks all for the warm welcome. I will try and put some pictures up soon and then ask some questions about what needs to be done.

I don't want to get into too much detail about why my old bathroom fitter walked off the job, partly because I don't want to put a lot of negative stuff online. Suffice to say that I am now left with:

two thirds of a tiled floor (approx 5m2 not yet grouted) installed on top of WBP ply;
some of the first fix plumbing (for bath, w.c., towel rail and shower tray) but not yet the plumbing for the shower pump, mixer valve or shower head;
a marmox showerlay board that has been cut down by 30cm, is covered in tile adhesive from an abortive attempt to fit tiles and has tanking applied over the top of the adhesive