Discuss hi all in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

hello my names mick and i live in good old dudley in the west midlands . at the moment im at a sort of crossroads in my life . i currentley drive a hgv for a living and with my take home pay of £247.00 per week i,m finding things a bit hard you could say . with a morgage , 3 kids , etc . any way i,m looking at becoming a tiler , , i bet youve heard that once or twice on here . i ve had an intrest in tiling for a good many years as i have done afew tiling jobs for family and freinds over the years ,and i really enjoy it . but as you can see from my post its time to move on into another job , is it possible to make a living out of tiling , thanks mick

F

foxworth

Hello and welcome Nick, As posted above with the economic downturn the work load has slowed slightly and with the vat increase customers will want to part with less. So id say its a gamble to chuck in the towel and start a new trade. In my opinion you could keep up the work for friends and family, maybe advertise in your local shop window slowly picking up experience and extra cash then it'll go from there. Also check out the mapei website there offering a free days training on the tools and product knowledge. Keep us posted and good luck.

A

aph257

welcome Mick. tbo it's tough at the mo and if your getting that every week then i'd bare it out til better times as it'll take some time to build up a client base just to earn that much. i've been self employed now coming up to a year and it's breaking even, i take home a lot less than you are at the moment. Thankfully i had all the start up costs etc already so no loans and i have other income otherwise I wouldn't have made it. Sorry if that sounds harsh but i don't want you to get into a bigger mess.

T

Time's Ran Out

:welcome:Mick - this IS the best job in the world and despite some doom and gloom an Established Tiler should have plenty of work IMHO.