UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Hi Folks in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

sgwilko

I live in Sutton AT Hone, just outside Dartford.

I am an amateur tiler. having tiled a kitchen (very recently) and a bathroom in our old place back in 2004.

For the first time I am using large format porcelain tiles and cement based adhesive all from Topps in order to renovate our bathroom.

I've plumbed in the bath, and have started fixing the tiles to the walls - which were mostly in good nick after scraping the old tiles and adhesive off the walls. One wall took a bit of a hammering, and I patched this with a plaster repair kit, smoothed as best I could, allowed to set and sealed with bal primer.

Tiles have started going up - Zamora beige 30 x 60 - and they look stunning. I am just paranoid that they are so heavy, having never used this type of adhesive that you have to mix yourself.

According to the directions on this adhesive (topps trade adhesive) I shold use a 5mm thickness of adhesive. This seems to hold the tiles OK, but will it last? Told you I was paranoid - I've even been dreaming that the tiles are falling off the walls!!!

The reason I am so worried is that I stuck a cut piece of tile to the windowsill, which about a day later I was unhappy with, so took it up - it came up easily with the use of a screwdriver!!!

Am I worrying over nothing?

Sorry BTW for putting this in the intro section!!

Cheers.

Stuart.

G

Gazzer

the problem here is will the original substrate take the weight of the tiles ???

Quote "A common question, how much weight can my wall support, here are the reccommended max weight ratings in KG / m2

Plaster Skim on Plaster Board........20KG
Skim and Set Plaster...................28KG
Plaster Board.............................32KG