UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Homebase tiles, this can't be right! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Bathfix Bob

TF
Arms
I've been fitting & tiling bathrooms for about 3 years now and in that time there have been at least two bathrooms with tiles from Homebase.

The tile sizes seem to drift up and down like mad, I've had no choice today but to take a thin slither off at least half the tiles I fixed. :mad2:

Take them back I hear you ask?

I have done, all they have are dregs. These tiles are now discontinued, I did the bathroom 2 years ago but she only wanted 3 walls tiling, now she asked me to tile the remaining one and I was lucky to get the tiles in time before the last were sold.

Batch numbers are probably shot to hell, but its seems every time I use Homebase tiles I get this problem.

Even tiles out of the same box had a few different size ones, only 1mm ish but enough to knock everything out of kilter. :prrr:

T

Time's Ran Out

Unfortunatly for Homebase, every bathroom I do from now on and they're asking me where to get tiles from I shall have to tell them to give Homebase a wide birth.

This wall I've just finished is fine but not to my usual standard.

Bob - the bathroom is to your usual standard - its just the tiles that are not!
I've fixed expensive handmade tiles for years which are 'rustic' and its a look the people are after.
I've fixed cheap tiles from everwhere and its our job to make them look good.
You do the best job you can with the best materials available and fix the tiles that the customer likes.
Sometimes this job is a JOB and we have to pay the bills.

T

tfs

This is very common in cheaper tiles (I guess you get what you pay for)