Discuss How long should a bathroom take? in the Bathroom Tiling Advice area at TilersForums.com.

C

craigd

Hay guy i've been tiling for about 6 months, i know thats not long but i've tried hard to learn as much as i can and do a job with out cutting corners. Right now i'm doing round a bath, first of all i stripped all the paint back then i tanked it with Ardex wpc, that took a day, on my second day (thats today) ive tiled 2 walls round and i'll finnish off tomorrow, but buy the time i've waited for adhisive to dry thats another 2 hours till i can grout so it's going to take 3 days in total, it's taken a little longer than i thought because it's in slate and i've never used it before.
Is that normal? A'm i doing anything wrong?
I ask because i've spoken with a lady who said she had hers done in about 5 hours and he didn't even strip the paint off and that was 8 years ago and it's still fine.

Last edited by a moderator:
R

Rich

Also bare in mind that every room is different. You cant say that a bathroom takes this long and somebody else took this long because it depends on so many things including prep,tiles,design,adhesive blah blah blah. Every job I start the customer asks "how long do you think it will take?" and my answer is always the same "I haven't a clue, I will be able to give you a good idea once I make a start."

If ever in doubt with what you are doing, be sure to pop in here and ask, we are always happy to offer advice :thumbsup:

John Benton

TF
Arms
Leeds
As above, get the quality and forget about the speed. An average bathroom of 15-20 m2 will take me 4 days from prep to finish, I wouldn't want to do it any quicker as I feel I would lose the quality.

Agreed Bri

When a tiler goes in and does that amount in 1-2 days somethings wrong. It's either the prep or the quality of the workmanship - usually both.

R

ruairi mac