Discuss How to price Victorian tiling. in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

Sean Kelly

TF
Arms
Ruislip
I’ve been asked to quote for laying a Victorian floor on the ground floor of a block of luxury flats.
I asked a few questions and have been told that this is the only way in/out of the flats. The base is concrete slab and the square meterage is approx. 7sqm including 2 steps. The customer says that the tiles come on a mesh.

There is a skirting board already fitted, but I do not know if it can be removed.

I have never worked with Victorian tiles before, but know that it could take quite a while to lay this floor.

The property is in London (20 mile drive from where I live).

How do I start pricing this one up? Help me please.

See attached plans.
2013-10-11_14-25-10_926.jpg

Cheers
Sean

T

The Legend; Phil Hobson RIP

Hello Sean,

There is a company down here that attach olde English tiles to a
Plastic sheet and number them for installation (like paper faced),
It decreases the installation time dramatically!

So find out if that's what is going on!!

The only thing that makes me think that might not be the case
Is the set out.....

All the best

Lee

Thats cheating Lee lol.

T

Time's Ran Out

Remember the drawing is just for an indication of content and style! It's not to be scaled off or indeed an accurate set out - far too many errors and faults. You can only provide quantities when you know the size of the sheets, size of the border pieces and actual size of the hallway (site visit is essential ). For 7sq mts of this type of sheeted geometric the middle 5sq mts or so will only take about half a day. But the set up, steps, and manipulation of the meshed border ( which rarely fit) will take another 2.5 days. Fast set adhesive on the centre 'mat' area will allow the passage of people within 2hours and done in 2 stages no one will be inconvenienced.

P

Protilers