UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Is V Notch Nessesary for Showers?? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

stevek

First I should say hello, Im not a professional tiler but have a little DIY tiling experiance, Im just going to start tiling our shower and I wonder if I might ask a questain? I understand that the recomended method of fixing tiles in Shower Areas is on a Thin Solid Bed of adhesive, which I belive is best achieved by useing a V notched Trowel or Applicater(?) the trouble is that Wicks/B&Q and one very large Tiling Shop & Installers dont carry these, they all have various sizes of Square and Large Round Floor Trowels, but not a single V Notch!. I did think about trying to apply a solid bed of adhesive and then lightly combe it, but to be honest I feel that trying to obtain a consistent thickness might be beyond me and will only give me additional problems. My ideal is to be able to "Butter" the Tiles with a small applicator, which I know is slow but works for me. What do you professionals use, Square or V and how big, and can I buy a Small (preferably Plastic) V Notch Applicater if "V" is whats required??
Steve (Nr Bournemouth)

UKTT Darren

TF
TF Official Sponsor
Subscribed
North East
A v shaped trowel will give 100% coverage, as a 6mm square notch will give you 70% coverage, a solid bed should be used with an AA adhesive.
You can get them from North East Tiling Training web site at the top of the forums page, click on the tools icon, Price £15 plus p /p
You should get about 6 square metres of coverage out of a 15kg tub

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK