Discuss Job timescales? in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

STEVO

TF
stockport
Fellas, and girl racer!

I was just thinking about how long it takes most of you guys to do a job? Let's say a bathroom in ceramics, 200x250 for example, 20m2 on the walls including a window with a bath and say 3-4m2 on the floor of 300x300. This would probably take me 4 days, which i guess is a little slow. I know i perhaps fuss a bit too much to make sure its right, but i just wonder how slow i am?

And what about another, say 25m2 of 600x300 porcelain, with perhaps some mosaics thrown in somewhere, and same tile on floor 4m2. This would probably take me 5 days!

I dont know how to speed up. I'm sure it doesn't help that i am largely self taught and have not had thee benefit of being trained by a seasoned time served pro. Thus i am probably missing out on tips and methods to help my speed.
Thoughts welcomed please!

C

charlie1

Its bulkheads and pipe boxes that takes the time. Set yourself targets throughout the job eg, tile the main wall in a given time 2-3 hours. Don't want to be controversial but time is important... Very important, yes the quality is the most important but the time factor is not far behind. There are lots if things you can do to save time but in guessing you might be looking in to your work too much so my advice to you would be stop looking and keep tiling, if you trust yourself and your levels are good then you will be fine... You wont be long in finding out if something is wrong if your tiling to a good speed.

D

Dougs Third Go

a lot depends on wether it's a blank canvas or not. It's not only the prep that eats into your time but also other considerations like, "is this the customers only working bathroom, if so, potware out at start of day and back in at end of day", all these things take time, and sometimes you have to chuck in this half an hour a day gratis, as the next guy that quotes won't have thought of it and gives a stupid low price.