UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Just starting out, a few questions in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

tafkap68

Hi, newbie on here so be gentle with me!

I'm just starting out on the self employed route and have a couple of questions which I hope can be answered:

Guaranteeing work - I want to offer my customers a 5 year guarantee and need advice as to how to word the guarantee on my invoices. I want to keep myself covered against things out of my control and problems which didn't arise from my workmanship.

Tanking - when offering tanking to customers what is the most concise way of explaining the benefits. If a customer asks what tanking does, how do I explain it in laymans terms.

Thanks!

T

trevortine

I would just explain to them that your work and your work only is guaranteed. So many times i have went into bathrooms where a joiner has put ply down with a hand full of ring shanks and its not the required thickness. I insist on screwing every 6 inches. Things like that can let you down if not addressed ie floor movement leading to failed grout and adhesive joints. As for the tanking mate , it basically gives you a watertight barrier between the adhesive and wall whether it be plaster or plasterboard, a must in shower areas.

C

Concept PHT

I would be very careful with the guarantee thing too. 5 years is a bit long in my opinion. Although the workmanship should be A1, you may be creating a rod for your own back when it comes to Mr Smith saying he doesn't want tanking on a power shower area, (to cut costs) then the tiles fall off after 12 months. First person he is going to blame is you. It all then starts to affect your reputation, even though its not your fault.