Discuss More dot n dab Travertine in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

sibs

Hi gang
Firstly am I right in my selection of a 10mm round notched trowel for large format travertine? Say of they were in region of 600 by 300? If that is correct am I right in thinking a bag of white spf will give me a coverage of 4 - 5 sqm?

Secondly I have been asked to finish off someone elses handy work... not a particularly good job... the guy who started it... a stone mason by trade dot n dabbed the travertine on the walls including the shower area which has been tanked. I'm a little confused though because the guy said that sand had been put over the tanking to give a key for the adhesive to stick to :huh2: anyone heard of this method?

On the floor by the shower cubicle the previous guy has left an inch and a half gap between the first tile and the edge of the cubical :mad2:
He simply never came back so I have been asked to finish off which consists of a row of tiles around the top (room is half tile) including a window reveal, the rest of the floor which is all cuts because he only put the full tiles down and the ply base of the shower cubicle (more cuts). The tiles are a very wierd size... 405 by around 600 ish brick bond
I was thinking of charging £200 plus mats for the sheer hastle of finishing someone's very poor job. What do you guys think of the price?

Btw he told me that the floor had been tanked but the tiler had plyed over it:whatchutalkingabout

A

Alberta Stone

Posting a few pics really helps us decipher what people are talking about as words often fail to convey the important details.

Sounds like you are finishing off a bit of a mess.
I agree with sir ramic that you need to be very clear with the client as to no liability on you for failure of the other guys work.
I usually avoid those jobs.