Discuss Mosaic Tiles in a Shower Enclosure in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

T

tom975

I am a total novice so hopefully my questions are valid, I would really appreciate if one of you experienced and knowledgable tilers could spare a couple of minutes to help me.

Here goes...

We are refitting our bathroom and plan a tiled shower enclosure (tiled to 3 sides).

Firstly do I need to 'tank' or seal the walls before tiling, if so what would be the best product ?

Secondly my wife really wants to use mosaic tiles on all three walls, Is this possible are there any drawbacks or potential problems with these. (I have read on Google water may leak through and they are hard to clean)

Finally If they are ok to use, do they need sealing after being fitted. (if so what's the best product ?)

Oh and lastly as a total novice having never tiled before does this seem the type of job I would better to get one of you guys to do rather than having a go myself.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, I really look forward to hearing your advice

Tom

peteablard

TF
Arms
Cheshire
It is definitely worth tanking the walls first, I normally use the Bal WP1 tanking kit which isn't too expensive and for piece of mind is well worth using. What mosaics are you planning on using? If they are ceramic or glass then they shouldn't need sealing, if you go down the natural stone route then they will and will need re-sealing on an ongoing basis.
With regards to doing it yourself, mosaics definitely aren't the best tile to use for your first attempt and I would consider getting a professional in to give you a quote.

T

tom975

Many thanks for your quick and helpful response peteablard.

She has spotted some glass "Lustra Pearl Tiles" in petrol black from wallsandfloors.co.uk

I don't seem to be able to set up a link to the exact tiles

But from what you have said they should be fine and not need sealing.