Discuss Natural stone tiling in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

T

Tiler Blackpool

Hi all,
Ive not posted on here for a while but wanted to ask a couple of things. i allways nip on for peoples views and wonder why the hell
i dont come on more often!!
Ive been tiling for 6 years now but i did my first Limestone job a couple of weeks ago. it was 26m2 wall 500 x 300 and 6 m2 floor(700 x 400). trav mosaic border, trav mosaic feature in shower area (top to bottom) and shower area base also in trav mosaic with a rim around the edges, and also tiled the boxing arount the bath. All in all it took me 9 and half days.Is this acceptable??? as i had an arguement with my customer as he thought i was taking too long! as well as this the walls were terrible so had to accomodate this.

Also, im doing a slate kitchen, diner, backroom next week (20m2) in uncalibrated slate. i have done calibrated slate a few times which looks great but this is uncalibrated in a kitchen.......is it going to be a nightmare? any advice more that welcome. and hes asked me if you can steam clean them once theyve been sealed?

Thanks in advance all.

im off to work now but will nip back on tonight.
limestone12.jpg

That looks (from afar) a very neat and tidy job. Mosaics are time consuming as well as the fact you are working with a natural stone which as you know involves sealing cleaning sealing etc.

is the customer happy with the result ?

Tell me more about this 'argument', I always tell the customer it will take longer than I know it will and also have a trusted plasterer to do my wall prep, if its not boarding with Marmox etc.

R

Rookery

I tell my customers it takes as long as it takes though I will give an estimate. All my jobs are to a fixed price so my customers know that even if I do over run by a day it wont cost them any more. I use that as a positive so they're happy.