UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Need help and advice in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

Dabigshow

Hi,

I am about to start tiling my bathroom this coming weekend. I would like advice on whether to tile over the existing wall tiles, or to remove the existing tiles and start from scratch. The tiles that are already on the wall are in good condition, although they are a very bad colour :)
What are the pro's and cons of tiling over existing tiles? Any advice on this?? I have never done any tiling before and would really appreciate some help on this.

Many Thanks

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK
Seach the forum for tile on tile and you'll get some info but just to say again what i've said in the past.....

Pro's
- nice flat surface to tile

Cons
- Not knowing what the background condition is like behind the existing tiles (it could be too heavy once tiled again)

Tap the tiles that are on, if they sound solid (you'll have to learn how to spot that one by tapping them all, you'll see some not so solid fixed ones I guess that tap funny) then you might be safe to tile. Plaster can carry 20kg's per meter and plasterboard 32kg's, so if it's plaster, take them off, if they don't sound fixed to well, take them off.

I'd take them off anyway to be honest. It could save you some hassle in the future.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK