Discuss New Business Advice?? Help!!!! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

AlexRobertson

Hey Folks!

Im new to the tiling world and need some advice and guidance if possible from all you pros!

I am looking to become a self employed tiler, and need advice on how to set my self up as a business and what I need to do, to become self employed?

Also any advice on the right tools to have and advertising etc would be great?

I currently work in a office and hate it :O( done a tiling course and feel ready to put in the hard work needed :O)

Cheers in advance

Alex

T

tfs

register with HMRC, get public liabilty insurance and go to your bank and ask for a business account. Get some business cards, headaded paper or invoices printed up and start advertising in local press or online directories.

If on a budget I would recommend the following;

Big clinker tile cutter (cuts mosaic up to 600mm square tile)
Budget wet cutter (£50)
Grout floats
Set of trowels 6,8,10,12mm
Mixing buckets
drill
Tile file
tape measure
set of levels
hole cutting set (diamond)

This is the basics and will get you started, as time goes on and you make moery upgrade to more luxury items.

A

AlexRobertson

Hi Guys!

Thanks TFS for all that info, very helpfull and apprieciated. Much was covered on my course but was so much to take in and was only covered at the end of the course briefly. So wanted some more professional advice from you guys!

Thanks for the concern re starting a business, but i am hoping to maybe go part time at work and for the other half of the week i hope to be able to build up my tiling business also :O)

Iv not had much experience yet, however i have a few jobs lined up for friends, so will use them as experience and also I am planning on doing my own kitchen and bathroom in the next few weeks.

I

Ian