Discuss New house, too much bills, now im a tiler in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

ageless

Abit about myself to start off with. Been in the building game for 30 years and can turn my hands at tiling but by know means a pro like others on here. Im a plasterer by trade but have had my fair share of tiling work throughout the years to know what im doing. Have worked for tiling contractors through the years aswell but could never really take to it as full time because of a dodgey knee i got after a bad rugby game.

Anyway, im building my own house and have 2 bathrooms, 2 ensuites and my wife has just informed me a week ago that she now wants wet rooms in all ensuites instead of shower trays. Im not to shabby at tiling but ive never tiled a wet room in my life. ive seen plenty get installed on newbuilds ive worked on but didnt really stick about to get the ins and outs of whats involved. I remember the tilers using some sort of plastic wet room tray, can anyone point me in the right direction where id get all the info i need for installing these. If i could fit it nto the budget to pay a tiler to install the wetroom floors, i would but budget is really tight and have to finish them myself thou im very confident i can install without any problems.

Both ensuites will be installed on concrete floors and im near sure the plastic wet room trays where half inch, and tiles another half inch plus adhesive will give me just over an inch raised height, will it be best to grind out a half inch of concrete for said trays.

When taking shower area, because its a wet room, will i have to tank whole room or just shower area.

Is there anything else id need to know for making a wet room.

P

p4ulo

Schluter products if money is no object, I've had some brilliant results with watching out for Schluter stuff on Ebay and bagged some bargains.