Discuss New Tiler Looking For On-the-job Training And Possible Employment in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Hi I am a self employed roof tiler by trade of over 11 years looking to becoming a wall/floor tiler.
I looking for somebody to work with to train me for a few weeks then hopefully work with that person/company thereafter.
I have a cscs sssts asbestos awareness etc willing to travel work away. I live in Barry south wales.

PM me if you can help.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have asked a local company who work on new build site s and they basically said you would have to start a apprenticeship at £150 A week and work towards the nvq level 2 .I couldnt live of that wage because of 3 kids and a wife. Im hoping I would pick it up quickly using similar principles from roofing. But that was it so far Dan

L

Luis Franco

That's nor fair, 30 pounds a day even for an apprentice.
There are tilers earning more than 150 pounds a day easy and just because they have the responsibility.
And the apprentice? who mix the adhesive, make the cuts,grout,clean all the mess bring the tiles to the tiler...doesn't he work hard?
Only deserves 30 pounds a day... is that fair?
I know you are going to learn but you don't deserve just that amount of money, good luck for you.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK
That's nor fair, 30 pounds a day even for an apprentice.
There are tilers earning more than 150 pounds a day easy and just because they have the responsibility.
And the apprentice? who mix the adhesive, make the cuts,grout,clean all the mess bring the tiles to the tiler...doesn't he work hard?
Only deserves 30 pounds a day... is that fair?
I know you are going to learn but you don't deserve just that amount of money, good luck for you.
The tiler on 150 a day has been there and done that though. We all have to start off.

An apprentice will cost the tiler in time. He can't then share his wage too.