Guest viewing is limited

Discuss Newbie re-grouting kitchen counter tile in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

G

globaltraveler

Hello! I've been trawling the forums and haven't found the info I was looking for, so I hope it's all right I'm starting a thread up. Part of the problem is that I've never done any tile work before, and another part of the problem is that I'm from the US and don't know if what Americans call something is what someone from the UK calls it.

We are about to move into a rented flat. The kitchen counters are tiled in a white tile and white grout. (Which to me sounds the height of madness, but oh well.) The sink hardware is copper. It's been a rental property for a while.

You can imagine the state of the grouting around the sink.

There's also (less obviously horrible) problems with the grouting in the bath.

So I thought I'd see if it's too hard for someone who has never done it to re-grout the tile. I have a few questions... (Understatement of the year.)

1) What do you call the tool you use to remove old broken and discoloured grout from between the tiles? A grout saw? A grout remover? Enquiring mind wants to know so it can buy the correct thing.

2) What kind of grout is most suitable for this sort of area? And is it going to be a problem if I'm only doing the damaged grout and it turns out not to be the same as the grout on the rest of the counters? Can someone tell by looking what kind of grout the old grout is?

3) Is this going to be best done as a pro job rather than a DIY, and how much (approx.) should a job of this kind cost me/my landlord? (I realize this question is a "how long is a piece of string" kind of question, but I thought I'd give it a try anyway.)

I'm sure this post gives away my complete and total ignorance where grouting is concerned, but I was hoping someone would be kind. :) Thanks in advance for any information, direction, opinions, and help that anyone can manage for me!

kilty55

TF
Arms
edinburgh