Discuss Opportunity to do it right. in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Hi,

I am new to tiling and new to this forum.

I have recently purchased a house and would like to redo the bathroom. I have had a new boiler and had the airing cupboard knocked into the bathroom to allow for a separate shower.

I have been looking through the forum for a bit but can't seem to find the exact answers I am after.

My questions are:

1. I currently have floorboards, is it best to remove them completely and replace with something else or just overboard? Which materials would be best, some seem to say ply is OK and others do not, backing board?

2. The walls are 12.5mm plasterboard, part stud and part dot and dab. They have previously been tiled and painted but are in good condition. What is the best preparation. Is it to remove any paint and prime with an acrylic based primer?

3. Where is the best place to start when tiling? Seems to be a preference thing, although walls seem to be favourite just leaving the bottom row till last.

4. Would it be advisable to fit the bath suite first then tile or vise versa?

Sorry for all the questions and I'm sure most have already been answered, it's just that I have the opportunity to the job right and would like a bit of advice for piece of mind.

Thanks

R

RDTiling

Hi, and welcome to the forum.

Taking each of your questions in turn:

1. If the floor boards are deflection free, then you don't need to replace them, but can get away with overboarding. For this, you can use 6mm hardie backer board, glued (non-flexibl tile adhesive) and screwed to the existing floor boards.

http://www.jameshardie.co.uk/images...ent_backerboard_installation_guide_manual.pdf

Hardie recommend a non-flexible adhesive for 'gluing' the hardie boards to the floor boards, but I know many on here use flexible adhesive.

If you decide to use ply wood, you will need to use 18mm WBP plywood, and prime using an acrylic primer (don't use PVA!)