Discuss polished black porcelain (again!) in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

N

nomates

hi everyone , i'm not a proffessional tiler , but have done quite a bit of tiling ,on a DIY basis before ....I have a question about the polished porcelain tiles I have just layed in my own home.....

they are 600 x 300 polished black porcelain tiles from topps , the guy's at topps were very unhelpful ,and when they knew I wasn't a tiler ...I must say asking for any advice ,was like getting blood out of a stone ...

anyway I am at the stage ready for grouting ....i have claened the transit grease off with 'fila' tile and stone stripper ,and have sealed the tiles with 'fila' polished porelain protector ....sold by and recomended by topps

firstly are the fila products any good?......and i'm worried about the grout staining the tiles (I'm doing a charcoal coloured grout)

what tips can you give me about the grouting ? ..and are the 'fila' products up to the job?

cheers in advance ....steve

here is a pic of the floor

009.jpg

N

nomates

Just ensure that the tiles are clean and have been sealed, if done well you should have no problems with the grout.

whats goin in that space where you can see the underfloor heating?

Welcome to the forum!
more tiles .....the wall is at a 45 degree angle ....and I needed to start on the right ,so left the tiles to go off for a day...then continued tiling the next day to go round the corner

T

tfs

your tiling looks good mate :thumbsup: but one thing I would say is that it is best to level over the mat with self leveling screed. When I first saw that space my intitial thoughts were that you were going to fix some type of fixture there, heat mats should not be installed under any permenant fixtures so between that and due to the mat not being screeded over I was just curious

Last edited by a moderator:
S

Scott