Discuss Porcelain Tiles 600x300x9 in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

R

Razornut

Hi chaps. First let me make it clear. I'm not a pro however I've done my fair share of tiling jobs over the years. Mostly simple little anti jobs. Im about to re tile an entire bathroom 3 walls and the floor. In a mates house she is skint so guess who she asked. Couldn't say no really anyway the walls are covered in those god awful mosaics. I happen to know that 2 walls around the bath are studded. I very much doubt with any kind membrane. Or even moisture resistant pb. The 3rd is d&d the bath is going to have a shower in it so i will be tanking it. The question is this.. Cement board or wr pb but not skimmed... Thanks in advance gents. Or ladies.

Last edited by a moderator:

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK
Strip the walls and see what damage is left to the studding. Repair or replace that with plasterboard throughout. Tank the bath / shower area. Make sure you use the tanking tape to physically connect the tanking on the wall to the shower base. You tank onto the base then by about the thickness of the tile. Then when the tile has adhesive on the back of it, it will cover the tanking so you don't see a thing.

Then tile. Don't dot and dab the tiling! Use the right tiling trowel. Needs to have 100% coverage in the shower area and 80-100% in the other areas. Use cement-based adhesive and grouts.

R

Razornut

Strip the walls and see what damage is left to the studding. Repair or replace that with plasterboard throughout. Tank the bath / shower area. Make sure you use the tanking tape to physically connect the tanking on the wall to the shower base. You tank onto the base then by about the thickness of the tile. Then when the tile has adhesive on the back of it, it will cover the tanking so you don't see a thing.