Discuss Potential Tiler advice!! Nottingham area in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

Ok, this could be a long one, but any advice welcome!!.. I am 40yr old family bloke, a printer by trade and have been looking to get out for years!!
I did an evening course in wall and floor tiling a couple of years ago.. I have done half a dozen jobs for friends and family, which went well. It just takes me a while.
Anyway, I have been made redundant this week, with enough pay off to last about 6 months.. I would love nothing more than to give the tiling a go!.. But lack on the job knowledge experience and confidence.. In an ideal world I could do with getting on with someone to gain experience.. But I imagine this isn't going to happen..?????
I was thinking of putting a few small adverts in, try and start with a few small jobs, then build my confidence and experience..
Do you think this is doable in the current climate.. Is this how a lot of you started.. Is there enough work out there to make a few hundred quid a week???
Should I try and enrole on another tiling course to perhaps further my skills and gain confidence again!
Really really, any help or views appreciated.
Or even better if there are any tilers in the Nottingham area willing to share a bit of their gained knowledge for a free bit of help, and a bit of company! :smilewinkgrin:

C

charlie1

Hi mate, ask yourself this, do you enjoy tiling, would you enjoy it as a career? Yes a short course will help you break in to the trade and then you could learn enough to get you past within a couple of years IF you continually look to improve, potentially you could be doing full bathrooms or 60 m2 floors to a high standard by the time you are 43. You will need to have the hunger for it though... Good luck

B

bugs183

The fella's raise some good points here DB.