UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Quick intro and a couple of qs (primer G and setting out) in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

N

N!ck

Evening,
Quick intro; Ive been lurking on the forum for a few weeks in prep for a job I am doing on my kitchen tomorrow. Im an engineer by trade but have a couple of tiling projects under my belt ( full bathroom including tiled bath panel, and my mams kitchen). Having gained a lot of info from here I am planning on doing the best job I can tomorrow - 600x600mm porcelain onto a screed/slc floor - and there lies my first problem.

In preparation I have bought some Primer G to use before using keraquick adhesive. Do I need the Primer G? Having looked online on the data sheet http://www.mapei.com/public/COM/products/532_primer g_gb.pdf it makes no mention of using on screed in the application section. However in the Keraquick data sheet http://www.mapei.com/public/GB/products/103_Keraquick_UK.PDF it says anhydrite screeds must be dry etc and treated with primer G.

The second Q is about setting out; if I center the first tile in the doorway I will end up with approx a 120mm cut along a wall to the right. If I center 2 tiles (so the grout is in the center of the doorway) It obviously gives me a much larger cut but I am unsure if that will look unprofessional as you walk through the door. What would a pro do?

My final Q is also about setting out - hopefully the 3 quick diagrams explain my thoughts. Basically the width of X+Y+Z is grater than 1209mm (2x600mm + 3x3mm spacers). Also Y is where the oven is and is not central (there is a bigger gap to the left - X ). I am just after peoples opinions really, particularly myself and the mrs currently dissagree!

Thanks for your time :)
Nick

N

N!ck

Kitchen 1.jpg Kitchen 2.jpg Kitchen 3.jpg

N