Discuss Re-posted . Please read your insurance policy in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Chalker

TF
Arms
Tadcaster
Looks like no one could reply as I used the word, print! In the title. So here we go.

As a few of you are aware, I had my garage broken into and about £2500 of tools/stock stolen.
having never claimed off ANY insurance in my life (49 year old) . I decided I should claim on my household insurance. My policy says £4000 of cover, so went through the claims process only to be told today that in the small print it says that, trade tools used for work are not covered!!
on the insurance form I was asked what I did for a living and if I worked from home.
So where did they expect me to store tools???
so my advice would be for everyone to check all small print and ring your insurance to make sure tools stored in your garage are covered.

S

Spud

Looks like no one could reply as I used the word, print! In the title. So here we go.

As a few of you are aware, I had my garage broken into and about £2500 of tools/stock stolen.
having never claimed off ANY insurance in my life (49 year old) . I decided I should claim on my household insurance. My policy says £4000 of cover, so went through the claims process only to be told today that in the small print it says that, trade tools used for work are not covered!!
on the insurance form I was asked what I did for a living and if I worked from home.
So where did they expect me to store tools???
so my advice would be for everyone to check all small print and ring your insurance to make sure tools stored in your garage are covered.
perhaps next time ,god forbid ,tell them the tools stolen were DIY tools owned by your wife that way they would be obliged to pay out

Chalker

TF
Arms
Tadcaster
Yeah I was aware household insurance doesn't cover trade tools, it often doesn't cover things like PC's and laptops too if they are used for business, so you should chek that too.