UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Removing 20mm thick marble over UFH. in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Ok... The easiest way will be to remove the grout around the affected tiles and then break them into small bits to try and break the contact with the cable... you will have to try and be extra careful not to damage the ufh but if you do then this can be repaired...
Hi Dave,
Thanks for advice. What do you recommend breaking the tiles with? I have a multimaster to take away the grout so thats no problem, just concerned with the tiles as they are so thick.

A

Aston

as above

but i would really make sure you remove all the grout to give you as much clearance as you can get...use a small pointed chisel and start to break around the edges first. the marble will be weaker around the edges than in the middle!! there will be some room for the tile to move and then start working your way from around the edges to the center.
tap with a firm impact but dont smash away and there will be less chance of damaging the wires but as dave say's, these can easily be repaired...

good luck, but this is a classic case of why i believe you should slc over ufh..:thumbsup:

ed

Last edited by a moderator:
I think I will try the hammer to start with as I don't want to create to much dust.
Regarding why the removal : I was cutting the plinths down to size today ready to be fixed back after the spark as been back to wire in heating and there I saw lying under the cupboard the floor probe. I could not believe it, I'm always so careful to get everything 100% right but I suppose I'm only human!

as above