Discuss Removing Travertine Tiles in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

DazJWood

I am installing travertine tiles in my bathroom and have been tiling for quite awhile now as I'm taking my time. I have been fairly surprised at how well it is going considering it's my first attempt at tiling.

I have however an issue with a couple of tiles.

I haven't yet tiled around the top of my bath except on one of the three walls that surround it (one of the width walls). This was my first wall and was done a couple of months ago. (I keep jumping about doing different other jobs! So don't scoff at how long it's taking me! :lol:. Although I am making it into a life's work!). A couple of the tiles that I have fixed have left a gap of probably at worst 10mm between the bath rim and tile. Now I don't remember it being that great a gap when I first fixed them and despite the bath being installed on to fixed timber battens I have a feeling the bath and the wooden supports have settled to a degree. That's my excuse anyway! :oops:

Nevertheless, I don't really want to use one of those sealing strips if I can help it and I'm sure you'd all agree on this so am considering removing two of the tiles and replacing them.

Now I know I need to protect the surrounding tiles and I need to be careful in removing them. I've picked up the tip of putting carboard in the grout spacing while removing them. Are there any other tips or tricks to removing tiles other than hitting them, (carefully), with a chisel and hammer.

Thanks in advance,

Daz

P

peckers