UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Removing very sticky bitumen from concrete floor in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

divadee

Hi there, newbie here and hoping for some simple advice.
We have got a very old as very poor parquet flooring in the dining room under the carpet. We want to remove all of this to tile but husband has said we must remove all the bitumen first.
What is the best way to do this? We have had to lift the parquet in another room and it is so sticky that it's a nightmare to work with. We were putting carpet in that room so we just ply boarded it. Hubby has said that's not really suitable for tiling.
Please can you help? Xxxx

D

divadee

Any chance of a picture. You mention big lumps? Are these brittle? Just want to be certin it's bitumen

Hi Aligage I have done a quick picture of what it underneath the whole parquet floor to give you an idea.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v355/divadee/de47cc4e.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v355/divadee/c9ca8c76.jpg

My hubby said its more ridges than lumps (I am a girl what do I know lol) they can be chiseled off! But that's not a job I would relish doing with my small chisel lol.

I was wondering if maybe a floor scarifier would work on the concrete? Or an angle grinder with wire brush? (admittedly don't relish either of those)

AliGage

TF
Arms
Subscribed
Ah i see. It has been used as an adhesive. It's more commonly (when used indoors) used as screed. If that was the case it's easy to get up, as usually 9/10 times it's concrete underneath. Once you break through to concrete level an SDS brings it up in lumps.